My poem, “Mother Cooking”, was published in the October 2013 edition oThe Lake, an online journal based in the U.K.  They have a Seamus Heaney tribute this month, which is worth reading.  I’m sad that I discovered Heaney only recently (my misspent youth was “wasted” on the Beats and the likes of Charles Bukowski).  Thanks to the wonders of the internet, I can catch up on some of what I missed.

Heaney’s impeccable meter and subtle musicality was something I was consciously attempting to emulate in this poem, so while it’s not a part of the tribute, I am honored to see it included in the same issue.

Heaney was a master of the skill of enchantment–casting a spell with words, which can instantly take you to another place and time:

Leave a Reply

